#FridayReads – What are you reading this week?

I am currently reading…

I literally just started three books again – one at home, one in the car, and one at school!

#1 – So many teachers and students have told me I need to read Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda that I finally grabbed a copy to read when I am co-teaching in classes.  Having just started, I am still trying to figure out the characters and what the major conflict will be. This story is a nominee for the 2017 Abe Lincoln Book Award as well!

#2 – Girl in the Blue Coat has been on my radar for a while.  I have read several WWII books this past year, and this quote from Kristin Hannah convinced me to pick it up.

Girl in the Blue Coat is a powerful, compelling coming-of-age story set against the dark and dangerous backdrop of World War II. It’s an important and page-turning look at the choices all of us-including young adults-have to make in wartime. A beautiful combination of heartbreak, loss, young love, and hope.” -Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale

The library only had a copy in audiobook format so I am listening to this to and from work each day.

If you haven’t read House Arrest, please go grab it!  This book moved me to tears!  Even though it is tagged as middle grade, I have talked this up among my high school students as it forces them to think about right and wrong and how far they would go to save someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

