#WWW Wednesday 10/19/16

This weekly meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open to all to participate. Why not join in and let us know what’s on your reading list this week…

To join in, just answer the following three questions…WWW Wednesdays

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading…

Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig

I received an Advanced Reader Copy of Last Seen Leaving from NetGalley and I am trying to read more mysteries.  Doesn’t this sound good?

Summary from Goodreads:


25036310Flynn’s girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn’s girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can’t answer, and her friends are telling stories that don’t add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January’s boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January’s disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

I recently finished…

Root Beer Candy and Other Miracles by Shari Green

Root Beer Candy and Other Miracles was just what I needed this week in my reading life. I 29280247have read enough depressing books lately, that this one was a bright spot. The story is about a girl and her brother who are shipped off to their grandmother’s house (whom they have never met) on the beach for part of the summer as their mom and dad are going through a marriage counseling boot camp. While the kids enjoy their new friends and new adventures, deep down they are still worry about their parents and what is going to happen after they return from the marriage boot camp.

I loved that this story was told in free verse. Green’s writing flowed and it was beautifully written. The characters were easy to love and connect with. This is definitely more middle grade than young adult, but I can see children relating to this story and falling in love with it just as much as I did.

 

I plan to read next…

The librarian at our high school must read my mind (or know my to-read list on Goodreads by heart) because she always purchases piles of books I want to read.  These four are just a few of the newest books out that I can’t wait to read this fall.

 

What are you reading that I should add to my to-read list for this fall?

3 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday 10/19/16

  1. Exit, Pursued by a Bear looks really interesting. I’m curious how the cover connects. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

