#WWW Wednesday 9/21/16

Now a month into the school year, I am already struggling to keep up with blogging this fall as my plan to write at least one post a week about books has gone out the window. To get myself back into the groove, I am starting up my #WWW Wednesday posts again.

WWW WednesdaysThis weekly meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open to all to participate. Why not join in and let us know what’s on your reading list this week…

To join in, just answer the following three questions…

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I am currently reading…

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

I received an ebook ARC of this novel from Netgalley and a paperback copy from our librarian.  David Arnold received rave reviews for his first story, Mosquitoland, so I was excited to be given the opportunity to review his newest story.  According to his publisher, Kids of Appetite is “a universal story, heartbreaking and uplifting all at the same time – the kind of book where you feel just a little bit changed after you read it.”

22466429

I recently finished…

 Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

This is the story of a teenage girl who has been released from a mental hospital after a short stay for “cutting” and attempted suicide.  With no place to go (her mother does not want her) she ends up in Arizona trying to start over.  Glasgow goes deep in this debut and isn’t afraid to get real on the topics of self-harm, suicide, drug/alcohol abuse, etc.  It was painful for me to read as I just wanted to give her a safe home but I know that there are students who will connect with this one right away.

29236380

The Memory of Things by Gae Polisner

This story has been getting rave reviews and the timing is perfect with the 15th Anniversary of September 11th just passing. As I opened to the first page, my husband was watching various documentaries on September 11th and I was quickly transferred back to that dreadful day. This book is more than just a love story of two teens who meet on the Brooklyn bridge minutes after the planes crashed into World Trade Center towers. It is about family and protecting those who mean the most to you. It is about friendship and making sure those around you are taken care of. It is about courage and determination to help those who need it the most even when you want to stay home all curled up in bed. And mostly, it is about finding hope in the darkest of days. I loved this story and think I will treasure it for a long time. I want my own children to read it and understand that even when there is a lot of evil in the world. Good will always trump it and love will always win.

28220960

I plan to read next…

Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner

Beyond just being another ARC I received from our librarian, this Goodreads quote convinced me I needed to read this sooner than later:

How do you move on from an irreplaceable loss? In a poignant debut, a sixteen-year-old boy must learn to swim against an undercurrent of grief—or be swept away by it.

23617206

Leave Me by Gayle Forman

I am a huge fan of every Gayle Forman book written. I can’t wait to read her adult debut.

28110865

Leave a Reply

