Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Shroeder

Recommended by:  Our school librarian.  She just purchased it for the library and I pulled it out of the box and into my to-read pile for the summer.

Published by: Simon Pulse – January 2010

Summary by Goodreads:

Chasing BrooklynRestless souls and empty hearts

Brooklyn can’t sleep. Her boyfriend, Lucca, died only a year ago, and now her friend Gabe has just died of an overdose. Every time she closes her eyes, Gabe’s ghost is there waiting for her. She has no idea what he wants or why it isn’t Lucca visiting her dreams.

Nico can’t stop. He’s always running, trying to escape the pain of losing his brother, Lucca. But when Lucca’s ghost begins leaving messages, telling Nico to help Brooklyn, emotions come crashing to the surface.

As the nightmares escalate and the messages become relentless, Nico reaches out to Brooklyn. But neither of them can admit that they’re being haunted. Until they learn to let each other in, not one soul will be able to rest.

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I picked up Chasing Brooklyn because I needed a book I knew I could get through in a few days. I did not expect to like it as much as I did. The author wrote in a way that I felt the grief that both Brooklyn and Nico felt after dealing with the tragic deaths of Lucca (Brooklyn’s boyfriend and Nico’s brother) and Gabe (Lucca’s best friend). What started out as a book about dealing with death turned into a beautiful story of moving forward. I can’t wait to book talk this one when school starts this August!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

