#WWW Wednesday #6

Somehow I got a day behind!  Here is my WWW Wednesday.

This weekly meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open to all to participate. Why not join in and let us know what’s on your reading list this week…

To join in, just answer the following three questions…WWW Wednesdays

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I am Currently Reading…

#1 Defending Jacob by William Landay Book club is coming up and I need to get this one done soon.  I just started today, but two chapters in, the story is moving quickly and I want to know who murdered the 14 year old boy.

#2 The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan – I am still reading this one with my youngest.  We might be on this one for a while :).

I Recently Finished…

#1 – Booked by Kwame Alexander – I loved Crossover and his latest does NOT disappoint.  Alexander has a way of writing poetic verse that gets even my most struggling readers to engage in his stories.

#2 – Shakespeare Makes the Playoffs by Ron Koertge – I came across this one at the library and had high hopes for this one.  It has similar themes to Crossover and Booked, same poetic verse, but something was missing for me.  I struggled connecting with the main character and the poems he writes in his diary.

#3 – Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly – I didn’t realize until I finished the book that this was based on a real life heroine, Caroline Ferriday, who brought justice to the women that were ignored after WWII. I absolutely loved this story.  There were parts that were very difficult to read, but these are historical facts that must be written about.  Google “Word War II Rabbits” to learn more about these women.

I plan to read next…

All three of these are on my May NetGalley ARC list and my goal this year is to try to keep up with my ARCs better than I have the past few years.  Here is hoping I can finish these quickly!

What books are you reading this week?  Is there a book you fell in love with that you recommend I add to my to-read list?

One thought on “#WWW Wednesday #6

Leave a Reply

