#WWW Wednesday #5

This weekly meme is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open to all to participate. Why not join in and let us know what’s on your reading list this week…

To join in, just answer the following three questions…WWW Wednesdays

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I am Currently Reading…

#1 – Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly.  I received a copy of this ebook from NetGalley and have finally had a opportunity to read it. For some reason when I pick up historical fiction, I seem to be reading a lot of stories written about WWII.

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this debut novel reveals a story of love, redemption, and secrets that were hidden for decades.

I am about half way through and so far it has held my attention and I feel like I am learning more about the treatment of non Germans during the war.

#2 – The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan.  I read this a few years back with my oldest son and now my youngest son begged me to read it with him.  I can’t say “no” to read aloud time so I am enjoying this story for another time through.

I Recently Finished…

#1 – Regarding the Fountain: A Tale in Letters, of Liars and Leaks by Kate Klise – My son and I just finished this mystery written in memos, letters, notes, etc.  We enjoyed all the designs the students proposed when their drinking fountain sprang a leak and they needed a new one.

#2 – Just Like Me by Nancy J. Cavanaugh – I received this middle grade ebook from Netgalley. My full review can be found here.

#3 – The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds – I am a HUGE fan of Jason Reynolds after reading All American Boys.  This book did not disappoint.  My full review can be found here.

#4 – Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero – Gabi  is on the ISLMA 2017 Abe Lincoln Book Award nominee.  I know many students will connect with this character right away.  My full review can be found here.

I plan to read next…

 

#1 – Booked by Kwame Alexander – I loved Crossover and can only imagine that this one will be just as good.

Like lightning/you strike/fast and free/legs zoom/down field/eyes fixed/on the checkered ball/on the goal/ten yards to go/can’t nobody stop you/
can’t nobody cop you…
In this follow-up to the Newbery-winning novel THE CROSSOVER,  soccer, family, love, and friendship, take center stage as twelve-year-old Nick learns the power of words as he wrestles with problems at home, stands up to a bully, and tries to impress the girl of his dreams. Helping him along are his best friend and sometimes teammate Coby, and The Mac, a rapping librarian who gives Nick inspiring books to read.
This electric and heartfelt novel-in-verse by poet Kwame Alexander bends and breaks as it captures all the thrills and setbacks, action and emotion of a World Cup match!

#2 – Defending Jacob by William Landay – This is my May book club book.  I have heard great things about this one and I can’t wait to start.

Andy Barber has been an assistant district attorney in his suburban Massachusetts county for more than twenty years. He is respected in his community, tenacious in the courtroom, and happy at home with his wife, Laurie, and son, Jacob. But when a shocking crime shatters their New England town, Andy is blindsided by what happens next: His fourteen-year-old son is charged with the murder of a fellow student.

Every parental instinct Andy has rallies to protect his boy. Jacob insists that he is innocent, and Andy believes him. Andy must. He’s his father. But as damning facts and shocking revelations surface, as a marriage threatens to crumble and the trial intensifies, as the crisis reveals how little a father knows about his son, Andy will face a trial of his own–between loyalty and justice, between truth and allegation, between a past he’s tried to bury and a future he cannot conceive.

 

6 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday #5

  1. I’ve recently gotten a copy of Gabi, A Girl In Pieces so it’s good to hear it is an interesting read. And I have been meaning to read Defending Jacob as well; I’ve heard it’s an excellent read.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

Leave a Reply

