Book Review: This Song is (Not) for You by Laura Nowlin

This Song Is (Not) for YouThis Song Is (Not) for You by Laura Nowlin

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

*I received a copy of This Song is (Not) For You from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Summary by Goodreads:

Bandmate, best friend or boyfriend? For Ramona, one choice could mean losing them all.

Ramona and Sam are best friends. She fell for him the moment they met, but their friendship is just too important for her to mess up. Sam loves April, but he would never expect her to feel the same way–she’s too quirky and cool for someone like him. Together, they have a band, and put all of their feelings for each other into music.

Then Ramona and Sam meet Tom. He’s their band’s missing piece, and before Ramona knows it, she’s falling for him. But she hasn’t fallen out of love with Sam either.

How can she be true to her feelings without breaking up the band?

My Review:

I thought this novel had potential to be really good, but the further I got into the story, the stranger the plot became. The story was missing depth. I didn’t really “get to know” all three main characters until the last few chapters of the book as they were being honest with their parents about what they wanted in their future.

Even the love triangle between Sam, Ramona, and Tom was odd. The theme of love is carried throughout the whole novel, yet I struggled with how the relationships developed between these three. Sam loves Ramona, Ramona loves Tom and Sam, and Tom loves Sam and Ramona. And they are all okay with sharing the love amongst each other. Some may consider this mature; I found it lacking depth and honesty.

Will I book talk this to students? Sure. While I didn’t like it, I know there are some kids who will connect with the characters and enjoy their story.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

