2016 Reading Goals

My Reading Goals:

Happy 2016!  Each year I join the Goodreads Reading Challenge as a way to push myself to read more books and stretch myself as a reader. As I look back on my 2015 reading goals, I am proud of myself for what I achieved:

  • I read over 75 books.
  • I stretched myself as a reader.  I read more “boy” books than ever – Crossover, One Shot at Forever, I am the Weapon, Stand Off, and All American Boys. I picked up more “worldly” books – Inside Out and Back Again, A Long Walk to Water, A Long Way Home: A Memoir, and I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives.  I also read more adult books – See Me, A Friend of the Family, Circling the Sun, The History of Love, The Husband’s Secret, and Station Eleven. 
  • I read more nonfiction!
  • And finally… I tried my best to read all of the Advanced Reader Copies of books I received from NetGalley.

So for 2016, I am keeping my goals simple.  Our school librarian shared a Reading Challenge that she adapted from challenges she found online.  I decided to take on her challenge:

  • a book based on a true story
  • a book that published the year you were born
  • a trilogy
  • a book set somewhere you always wanted to visit
  • a banned book
  • a play
  • a book your mom loves
  • a book that is set in Chicago
  • a graphic novel
  • a non-fiction book
  • a book set in the future
  • a book you can finish in a day
  • a book of short stories
  • a memoir
  • a book by visiting author Matt de la Peña
  • a book that became a movie
  • a book you own but never read
  • a classic romance
  • a book with more than 500 pages
  • a book published in 2015
  • a book with a one word title
  • a book by a female author
  • a mystery or thriller
  • a book with non-human characters
  • a book a friend recommended
  • a book more than 100 years old

My goal for this year is 85+ books so if you have any recommendations based on this challenge or that I must read, please comment below and I will add them to my to-read list.

Leave a Reply

