Book Review: Hit Count by Chris Lynch

Hit Count

Do you have that student who loves football?  Someone who loves the adrenaline rush and the physical aspect of pounding on others with no worry about the damage that it can do to his/her body?  If yes, hand them Hit Count.

Summary by Goodreads:

“I hit him so hard, the clash of helmets and pads sounded like a gunshot across the field. I crushed him with the hit, held on to him, and crushed him again when I slammed him into the ground . . . I had arrived.”

Arlo Brodie loves being at the heart of the action on the football field, getting hit hard and hitting back harder. That’s where he belongs, leading his team to championships, becoming “Starlo” on his way to the top. Arlo’s dad cheers him on, but his mother quotes head injury statistics and refuses to watch games. Arlo’s girlfriend tries to make him see how dangerously he’s playing; when that doesn’t work, she calls time out on their relationship. Even Arlo’s coaches begin to track his hit count, ready to pull him off the field when he nears the limit. But Arlo’s not worried about tallying collisions. The winning plays, the cheering crowds, and the adrenaline rush are enough to convince Arlo that everything is OK—in spite of the pain, the pounding, the dizziness, and the confusion.

Hit Count explores America’s love affair with football and our attempts to reconcile the clear evidence of its dangers with our passion for the game.

My Thoughts:

I requested an ARC of Hit Count from NetGalley because I am always looking for books to put in the hands of students who love football. This story highlights our country’s love of high school football as well as the dangers of the sport.  I connected right away with Arlo’s mother.  I am THAT mom – the one that won’t let my boys play football due to all of the head injury statistics that Arlo’s mother quotes throughout the book.  Unfortunately, that connection did not keep me reading.  While this book was definitely NOT for me and I honestly couldn’t finish it, I do think there are students who will connect with Arlo’s passion for football no matter what the danger and will enjoy this story.

Leave a Reply

